Here are all the nominations for the 23rd annual South African Music Awards

Nasty C leads with 6 nominations

Words By Fisayo Okare

On the 27th of May 2017, the 23rd South African Music Awards (SAMAS) will take place at Sun City Resort. New artists who released their debut or sophomore projects in 2016 dominate this year’s ceremony.  Rapper, Nasty C leads the way this year, earning himself six remarkable spots on the nomination list, including ‘Best Newcomer’ and ‘Best Album of the Year’ off his Bad air Extensions album. Threading on this path with Nasty C is Kwesta, bagging five nominations, while the singing sensation, Amanda Black has four.

Interestingly, there are minimal nominations for artists who are not southern African citizens even for categories that are all encompassing of the countries on the continent such as ‘Best African Adult Album’ and ‘Best African Artists’. Rapper, Cassper Nyovest is absent from the list again, following his stance from last year that he doesn’t “want to win a SAMA anymore”. Albeit, three songs Cassper features on appear on the list: one with Kwesta, a production with coke studio and collaboration with Major League.

The South African music awards will be broadcasted live on the South African television channel, SABC1.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

Best Newcomer of the Year

Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga

Babes Wodumo  – Gqom Queen Vol. 1

Sketchy Bongo- Unmasked

Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions

Amanda Black – Amazulu


Best Duo/Group of the Year

The Soil – The Soil

Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers

Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga

The Parlotones – Trinkets  Relics & Heirlooms

Black Motion – Ya Badimo


Best Female Artist of the Year

Lebo Sekgobela – Restored

Babes Wodumo  – Gqom Queen Vol. 1

Kelly Khumalo – My Truth

Amanda Black – Amazulu

Thandiswa – Belede


Best Male Artist of the Year

Dr Tumi – Heart of a king

Kwesta – Dakar II

Musa  – Musa

Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions



Best Album of the Year

Kwesta – Dakar II

Black Motion – Ya Badimo

Amanda Black – Amazulu

Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions

Thandiswa – Belede


Best Rock Album

The Sweet Resistance – Where There Is Hope

Lost & Found – Lost & Found

Richard Stirton – Middle Ground

The Parlotones – Trinkets, Relics & Heirlooms

Albert Frost – The Wake Up


Best Pop Album

Matthew Mole – Run


GoodLuck – The Nature Within

Sketchy Bongo – Unmasked

TiMO ODV – Origins (Digital Edition)


Beste Pop Album

4Werke – 4 Warm

ADAM – Hoogtevrees

Dewald Wasserfall – Jy Is Die Storm

Kurt Darren – Sal Jy Met My Dans

Snotkop – HKGK


Best Adult Contemporary Album

Elvis Blue – Optics

Hugh Masekela – No Borders

Majozi – Fire


Msaki – Zaneliza: How The Water Moves


Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Adam Tas – Patatas en Pyptabak

Coenie de Villiers – Emoji

Joshua na die Reën – Die Wêreld Binne My

Refentse – My hart bly in ‘n taal

Ricus Nel – Ouskool Boerseun


Best African Adult Album

Dumza Maswana – Molo

Kelly Khumalo – My Truth


Nozipho – Thando

Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga


Best Alternative Music Album

Arno Carstens – Die Aandblom 13

Chris Chameleon – Firmament

Native Young – Kings

Somerfaan – Alien Boogie Stuff

Tailor – Trust Part 1


Best R&B Soul Reggae Album

Afrotraction – Love and respect

Amanda Black – Amazulu

Brenda Mtambo – So Much More

Karabo – Matters of the heart

Tima Reece – 9


Best Rap Album

A Reece – Paradise

Khuli Chana – One Source

Kwesta – Dakar II

Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions

Stogie T – Stogie T


Best Kwaito Album

Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol. 1

Bullistic – N.W.O (New World Order)

Dr Malinga – Goodwill

Taylor K – Paper Chase

Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi – Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi


Best Dance Album

DJ Clock – The 5th tick

Black Motion – Ya Badimo

Durbans’ Finest – Durbans’ Finest – Reloaded

Mobi Dixon – Live The Music

NaakMusiQ – Born to Entertain


Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Deborah Fraser – Uhambo

Sfiso Ncwane – Wethembekile Baba

Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol.6


Zaza – Blowing the horn of chronicle


Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Dr Tumi – Heart of a king

Dr Tumi – Love and grace

Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn

Lebo Sekgobela – Restored

We Will Worship – Mmuso


Best Traditional Music Album

Candy – Easy Come Easy Go

Dr Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters – Shimatsatsa No 34: Xiganga

Mmaausi – Monna Oa Sokelwa

Qadasi & Maqhinga – Lashis’ Ilanga

Shabalala Rhythm – Yebo Ngiyavuma


Best Maskandi Album

Imfez’emnyama – Monalisa

imithente – s”yawuvala umlomo

Khuzani – Inyoni yomthakathi

Shwi noMtekhala – Kwabhalwa etsheni

Thokozani Langa – Amabrazo


Best Jazz Album

Darren English – Imagine Nation

dave reynolds & pops mohamed – live in grahamstown

Nduduzo Makhathini with Umgidi Trio and One Voice Vocal Ensemble – Inner Dimensions

Sydney Mavundla – Luhambo

Thandiswa – Belede


Classical Instrumental Album


Charl du Plessis Trio – Baroqueswing Vol. II

Imilonji KaNtu Choral Society – And Then I Heard A Voice by SJ Khosa

The Voice of Angels – The Voice of Angels Volume 2

University of Pretoria – Love and War


Best Afro Pop Album

Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers

Musa – Musa

Robbie Malinga – Robbie Malinga

The Soil – The Soil



African Indigenous Gospel Album

Amadodana Ase Wesile – Amadodana Ase Wesile

Jerusalema E Ncha – Jerusalema E Ncha

Lejwe la Motheo – Lejwe la Motheo

Living In Christ Legends – Living In Christ Legends



Best African Artist

Jah Prayzah – Jah Prayzah

Oliver Mtukudzi – Oliver Mtukudzi

Patoranking – Patoranking

Vee Mampeezy – Vee Mampeezy

Vuyo Katsha – Vuyo Katsha


Live Audio Visual Recording Album

Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 – Part 2 – The Alumni

Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 Live at The Moses Mabhida Stadium

Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn

Krone & Various Artists – Krone 3 DVD

Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol.6


Best Collaboration Album

Black Coffee – Your eyes

Kwesta ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa – Mayibabo ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa

Kwesta – Ngud’

Miss Pru – Ameni

Musa – Mthande


Best Music Video of the Year

Khuli Chana – One Source

Miss Pru – Ameni

Nasty C – Don’t do it

Nasty C – Good Girls

Reason ft AKA & Khuli Chana – Yipikayay


Best Produced Album

Afrotraction – Love and respect

Brenda Mtambo – So Much More

Matthew Mole – Run

Rubber Duc – The Secret Sun

Sjava – Isina Muva


Best Engineered Album

The Soil – Echoes of Kofifi

Arno Carstens – Aandblom 13


Jesse Clegg – Things Unseen

LeAnne Dlamini – Warrior


Remix of the Year

Distruction Boys – Wololo (Dbanj Remix)

DJ Mizz – Close to you (Mizz Afro Remix)

Evida – The Woods (Evida Remix)

Kyle Deutsch – Can’t Get enough (Official Remix)

Vic – Wena Wedwa (MusicCraftMAN Mix)

Featured Image Credits: Instagram/patorankingfire

AV CLUB: Nasty C’s short film “Bad Hair” is a pretty picture that lacks cohesion