Kabza De Small releases first solo headline album in two years, ‘KOA II Part 1’

Features DJ Maphorisa, Msaki, Young Stunna, Ami Faku and many, many more.

Since declaring himself the King of Amapiano in 2020, with his genre-defining double LP, ‘I Am The King Of Amapiano: Sweet & Dust’, celebrated South African producer and DJ Kabza De Small has only added to the efficacy of his greatness. In the two years since, he’s strengthened royal status with a multitude of impactful and inventive releases. He’s co-helmed three joint projects: the experimental Afro-tech EP ‘Petle Petle’ with King Deetoy and DJ Maphorisa, ‘Rumble in the Jungle’ with Phori, and ‘Pretty Girls Love Amapiano 3’ with MDU aka TRP. There’s also been an avalanche of collaborative smashes, including Mr JazziQ’s “Woza,” Scorpion King’s “Abalele” and “Asibe Happy,” Young Stunna’s “Adiwele,” and more.

In that time, Kabza’s record label, Piano Hub, has expanded its roster and catalogue, even turning out one of 2021’s breakout superstar, Young Stunna. Loads of unreleased music have also been leaked, some of which were premiered by the producer via social media and at gigs, hinting at his preference for prolific and obsessive music-making. After months of speculation, and a few weeks since its announcement, Kabza De Small has arrived with a new solo headline album, ‘KOA ll Part 1’, a follow-up sequel of his definitive 2020 album.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kabza De Small🇳🇵 (@kabelomotha_)

This new project was preceded by ‘Ziwangale’, a 4-track EP released in EP, and its arrival was heralded by several pre-release singles, including lead single “Khusela,” which sees the hitmaker blending the groovy percussion of Amapiano and velvety melodies of gospel to conjure a refreshing concoction of ethereal sounds. ‘KOA ll Part 1’ comprises 18 songs, and it runs over two hours. For the uninitiated, the sprawling run time is typical of a Kabza De Small album, and Amapiano generally. The project is loaded with guest features, including producers MDU aka TRP, DJ Maphorisa and Stakev, and vocalists Msaki, Daliwonga, Ami Faku, Nobhule, Toss, Young Stunna, and many more.

From its title, this might be just one side to entire LP, which would be fitting since its predecessor was a double disc, and Kabza’s last joint tape was a mammoth 50-song project released serially. For now, though, ‘KOA ll Part 1’ is set to keep building on the Kabza De Small myth of continued dominance and musical inventiveness.

Listen to ‘KOA ll Part 1’ here.